Link to the BELSPO website NL FR DE EN Contact Help Search Links

Space in the Belgian parliament

On 3 February 2004, the Belgian Senate formed an official parliamentary
space group replacing a first work group created on 13 July 2000 by the
former Speaker of the Senate, Mr Armand De Decker.
Space is a high-tech sector looking to the future of which the applications will become growingly important. Moreover, Belgium participates to a large extent in space programmes of the European Space Agency (ESA) and other bi- and multilateral cooperation programmes. Last but not least, space is becoming more and more a sector of important national and European strategic interest.

Although the parliamentary space group formally depends of the Senate
Committee for economic and financial affairs, it works highly autonomous. As a result, apart from the members of parliament, also representatives of the competent European institutions, the federal government, science and industry participate in the proceedings, making it one of the main instruments of reflection of the Belgian Senate.

Mr François Roelants du Vivier chairs the parliamentary space group, Mr Hugo Vandenberghe and Mr Ludwig Vandenhove are vice-chairmen.

Members of the parliamentary space group
Secretary of the parliamentary space group
Activities 1999-2003
Activities 2003-2007

(c) ESA