Image

Object 4

Adolphe Sax
Trumpet with six valves and seven bells
Brass
Paris, 1869
Musical Instruments Museum (Royal Museums of Art and History, 4th dep.)

Inv. 2465

 

Adolphe Sax (1814-1894) from Dinant was one of the most talented musical instrument makers of the 19th century. He worked first in his father's workshops in Brussels, before settling in Paris where he opened his own factory. He was a skilled craftsman who incorporated industrial principles while developing the skills of an extraordinary inventor, in the musical field and beyond. His most famous invention remains the saxophone, which was patented in 1846 but only became a worldwide success after his death, thanks to jazz.

He also invented the saxhorn, saxotromba and saxtuba family, and made a number of improvements to wind and percussion instruments. A perfectionist at heart, he set about improving many existing musical instruments, such as the clarinet, the flute, the trumpet, the bugle, the horn, the trombone, the timbal, the bell and even the triangle!

To make valved instruments more balanced, he devised a six-valve system that, in theory, only played sounds with perfect intonation. Trumpets were given this ingenious mechanism, which is equivalent to combining several instruments into one. He filed a patent for this idea in 1852, followed by two others in 1859 and 1867.

Each of the six valves is independent from the others and produces its own series of natural sounds. If we add the notes acquired without using valves, we obtain seven harmonic series that produce all the notes on the scale. Each tube is connected either to a single bell or to seven distinct bells. The latter type produces particularly impressive, aesthetic and acoustically reliable instruments, although they are heavy and difficult to make. The fact that it is hard for musicians to learn new fingering was another disadvantage that prevented the system from taking off. It was kept only on the trombone, particularly in Belgium, until the mid-20th century. Several composers wrote beautiful scores for this type of instrument, including Giuseppe Verdi in his opera Don Carlos (1867).

 

 

Back to the list of objects



Copyright © 2018 BELSPO

Image

Objet 4

Adolphe Sax
Trompette à six pistons et sept pavillons
Laiton
Paris, 1869
Musée des instruments de musique (Musées royaux d’Art et d’Histoire, 4e dép.)
Inv. 2465

 

Le Dinantais Adolphe Sax (1814-1894) est l’un des plus talentueux facteurs d’instruments de musique du XIXe siècle. D’abord actif à Bruxelles dans les ateliers de son père, il s’installe à Paris où il crée sa propre manufacture. Habile artisan, il intègre les principes industriels tout en développant des capacités d’inventeur hors normes, tant dans le domaine musical qu’au-delà. Son invention la plus connue reste le saxophone, breveté en 1846, qui ne connaîtra un succès planétaire que bien après sa mort, grâce au jazz..

On lui doit aussi la famille des saxhorns, des saxotrombas et des saxtubas, ainsi que de nombreux perfectionnements apportés aux instruments à vent et aux percussions. Perfectionniste dans l’âme, il entreprend d’améliorer de nombreux instruments de musique existants, comme la clarinette, la flûte, la trompette, le bugle, le cor, le trombone, les timbales, les cloches et même le triangle !

Afin de rendre les instruments à pistons plus justes, il imagine un système à six pistons qui, en théorie, ne laisse entendre que des sons à l’intonation parfaite. Les trompettes se voient ainsi dotés de ce mécanisme ingénieux qui équivaut à la combinaison de plusieurs instruments en un seul. Il dépose un brevet d’invention sur cette idée en 1852, puis deux autres en 1859 et en 1867.

Chacun des six pistons est ici indépendant des autres et fournit sa propre série de sons naturels. Si l’on ajoute les notes obtenues sans l’emploi de pistons, on obtient sept séries harmoniques produisant toutes les notes de la gamme. Chaque tube est relié soit à un unique pavillon, soit à sept pavillons distincts. Ce dernier type génère des instruments particulièrement impressionnants, esthétiques et acoustiquement fiables, mais lourds et délicats à fabriquer. Le difficile apprentissage de nouveaux doigtés pour le musicien constitue un autre inconvénient qui empêchera le système de s’imposer. Il se maintiendra uniquement sur le trombone, surtout en Belgique, jusqu’au milieu du XXe siècle. Plusieurs compositeurs écriront de belles pages pour ce type d’instruments, dont Giuseppe Verdi dans son opéra Don Carlos (1867).

 

Retour vers la liste d'objets



Copyright © 2018 BELSPO