Image

Object 6

Penicillium vulpinum MUCL 38790 (phase 1-2-3)
Penicillium crustosum MUCL 43437
Armillaria sp. MUCL 57008
Collections of micro-organisms

BCCM/BELSPO



 

Image
Penicillium vulpinum
MUCL 38790
Cultures from one to three weeks old on PDA (potato dextrose agar) medium
Mycothèque de l’Université catholique de Louvain (BCCM/MUCL)
Belgian Co-ordinated Collections of Micro-organisms (BCCM)

 

Image


Penicillium crustosum
MUCL 43437

Culture on PDA (potato dextrose agar) medium
Mycothèque de l’Université catholique de Louvain (BCCM/MUCL)
Belgian Co-ordinated Collections of Micro-organisms (BCCM)

 

The genus Penicillium, here represented by Penicillium vulpinum (top)and P. crustosum (bottom), classifies moulds of the Penicilli group, whose members include species that have played important roles for humans; the species Penicillium notatum lead to the discovery of the antibiotic penicillin in 1928, which saved millions of lives, and the species Penicillium roqueforti is a mould essential for the production of Roquefort cheese. It is a very diverse group, with sometimes impressive morphologies and colours.

The mycothèque de l’Université catholique de Louvain (MUCL) is one of the most important fungal culture collections in the world: more than 30 000 living strains, representing more than 4 000 species and 1 200 genera, from the research of scientists of the laboratory and their missions around the world, as well as deposits by external researchers or by industry.
http://bccm.belspo.be/about-us/bccm-mucl

 

 

Armillaria sp. MUCL 57008
Culture on MA2 (malt agar 2%) medium
Mycothèque de l’Université catholique de Louvain (BCCM/MUCL)
Belgian Co-ordinated Collections of Micro-organisms (BCCM)

 

Mushroom, in its reproductive phase (carpophore)

Mushroom, in its sterile phase,
mycelial, with rhizomorphs

 

Armillaria, here represented by Armillaria heimii, belong to the lamellate mushrooms (Agaricales). They have the particularity of forming structures called rhizomorphs, small cords that extend into the soil in search of a host tree, and that transport for example water. Fungi of the genus Armillaria play an important ecological role in the natural environment; they are important pathogens for trees of our forests, contributing to the recycling of wood and therefore to the carbon cycle.

A Canadian Armillaria specimen of the species A. solidipes (syn. A. ostoyae) is among the largest living organisms on earth with a size of about nine km2. Its age is estimated to 2 400 years and its weight to 600 tons.

 

 

Back to the list of objects



Copyright © 2018 BELSPO

Image

Objet 6

Penicillium vulpinum MUCL 38790 (Phase 1-2-3)
Penicillium crustosum MUCL 43437
Armillaria sp. MUCL 57008
Collection de micro-organismes

BELSPO/BCCM



 

Image
Penicillium vulpinum
MUCL 38790
Cultures allant d’une à trois semaines sur milieu PDA (pomme de terre-dextrose-agar)
Mycothèque de l’Université catholique de Louvain (BCCM/MUCL)
Belgian Co-ordinated Collections of Micro-organisms (BCCM)

 

Image


Penicillium crustosum
MUCL 43437

Culture sur milieu PDA (pomme de terre-dextrose-agar)
Mycothèque de l’Université catholique de Louvain (BCCM/MUCL)
Belgian Co-ordinated Collections of Micro-organisms (BCCM)

 

Les Penicillium, ici représentés par Penicillium vulpinum (haut) et P. crustosum (bas) sont des moisissures de la famille des penicilli, qui compte parmi ses membres des espèces qui ont joué des rôles importants pour l’homme; l’espèce Penicillium notatum est ainsi à l’origine de l’antibiotique pénicilline, découvert en 1928, et qui a sauvé des millions de vie, ou encore, l’espèce Penicillium roqueforti, moisissure essentielle à la fabrication du fromage Roquefort. Il s’agit d’une famille très diversifiée, avec des morphologies et des couleurs parfois impressionnantes.

La mycothèque de l’Université catholique de Louvain (MUCL) est l’une des plus importantes collections de cultures fongiques au monde : plus de 30 000 souches vivantes, représentant plus de 4 000 espèces et 1 200 genres, provenant de la recherche de scientifiques du laboratoire et de leurs missions à travers le monde, ainsi que de dépôts par des chercheurs externes ou des industriels.

http://bccm.belspo.be/about-us/bccm-mucl.

 

 

Armillaria sp. MUCL 57008
Culture sur milieu MA2 (malt agar 2%)
Mycothèque de l’Université catholique de Louvain (BCCM/MUCL)
Belgian Co-ordinated Collections of Micro-organisms (BCCM)
Inv. N/A

 

Champignon, sous sa phase de reproduction (carpophore)

Champignon, sous sa phase stérile,

mycélienne, avec rhizomorphes

 

Les armillaires, ici représentés par Armillaria heimii, font partie des champignons lamellés (Agaricales). Ils ont la particularité de former des structures appelées rhizomorphes, petits cordons qui s’étendent dans les sols, à la recherche d’un arbre hôte, et qui transportent notamment l’eau. Les armillaires jouent un rôle écologique important en milieu naturel; ce sont des pathogènes importants des arbres de nos forêts, participant au recyclage du bois et donc au cycle du carbone.

Un spécimen canadien d'Armillaria, de l'espèce A. solidipes (synonyme A. ostoyae), est parmi les plus grands organismes vivants sur terre avec une taille d'environ neuf km2. Son âge est estimé à 2 400 ans et son poids à 600 tonnes.

 

Retour vers la liste d'objets




Copyright © 2018 BELSPO