Object 21

Guild chain
Silver
Brussels, 1766
Royal Museums of Art and History
Inv. 3583

 

This silver necklace once belonged to a guild of archers. Every year, the title of king was disputed within the guild during a contest that involved participants shooting an artificial bird using a bow or arbalest. The winner became king of the guild and, as a reward, could wear this necklace for a year. It was a great honour! The new king was sworn in with all the pomp owed to his rank and received the necklace from the hands of the guild master. The king also became a managing member and occupied first place during processions, ommegangs (a type of medieval pageant) and other festivals.

This jewel is called the "king's necklace" and is made of links in the form of Bourgogne sabres.  The large central medallion depicts Saint Sebastian, patron saint of the guild. The smallest insignia is decorated with coats of arms (not yet identified) and the year 1766. It was added by the king of the guild. From the second half of the 16th century, the king added a small silver insignia in his name to the necklace, together with the year of his reign. If the king had a title, he used his coat of arms. The inner part of the necklace ends with the symbol of the king of the guild, namely the king's bird or parrot.

There are still several grey areas concerning the origin of guild necklaces but, in all probability, they imitated those worn by the knights of the Order of the Golden Fleece. In the necklaces of this famous Order, a gold lamb replaces the patron saint or parrot.

 

 

Back to the list of objects


Copyright © 2018 BELSPO

Image

Objet 21

Collier de guilde
Argent
Bruxelles, 1766
Musées royaux d’Art et d’Histoire
Inv. 3583

 

Ce collier en argent a appartenu jadis à une guilde d’archers. Chaque année se disputait au sein de la guilde le titre de roi durant un concours au cours duquel les participants tiraient sur un oiseau factice en bois à l’aide d’un arc ou d’une arbalète. Le vainqueur devenait roi de la guilde et, en récompense, pouvait porter ce bijou pendant un an. Un grand honneur ! Le nouveau roi était intronisé avec tout le faste dû à son rang et recevait le collier des mains du maître de la guilde. Le roi devenait en outre un membre gestionnaire et disposait de la première place lors des processions, ommegangs ou autre fêtes.

Ce bijou porte le nom de « collier de roi ». Il se compose de maillons en forme de briquets de Bourgogne. Sur le grand médaillon central, est représenté saint Sébastien, le saint patron de la guilde. Le plus petit écusson est décoré d’armoiries (non identifiées à ce jour) et de l’année 1766. Il a été ajouté par le roi de la guilde. À partir de la seconde moitié du XVIe siècle, en effet, le roi enrichit le collier d’un petit écusson en argent à son nom, marqué de l’année de son règne. Lorsque le roi portait un titre de noblesse, il optait pour ses armoiries. Dans la partie inférieure, le collier se termine par le symbole du roi de la guilde : l’oiseau du roi ou perroquet.

Il subsiste encore de nombreuses zones d’ombre concernant l’origine des colliers de guildes mais, selon toute probabilité, ils imitaient ceux des chevaliers de l’Ordre de la Toison d’Or. Dans les colliers du célèbre ordre chevalier, un agneau d’or remplace cependant le saint patron ou le perroquet.

 

Retour vers la liste d'objets



Copyright © 2018 BELSPO