Object 2

Moon, sun and flying saucer on a microscopic scale!
Fungi and micro-algae
BELSPO/BCCM

 

Welcome to the moon, on a microscopic scale!
Its surface is covered by craters, with multiple and varied topologies.
On beautiful starry nights, the different phases of this astronomical body can be admired.
Let's continue exploring the expanding universe, putting the sun in the spotlight.
Rockets, flying saucers and other spacecraft are very useful for space travelling.
For the occasion, the moon is covered by a copper coloured dress.
The actors of this space journey are fungi and micro-algae.

Composition proposed by the Belgian Co-ordinated Collections of Micro-organisms (BCCM), a consortium of seven complementary researched-based Biological Resource Centres, financed and co-ordinated by the Belgian Science Policy Office.

BCCM GREAT AT SMALL THINGS (Poster)

BCCM, a solution partner for providing services of quality in microbial and genetic resources for academia and industry.

The Mycothèque de l’Université catholique de Louvain (BCCM/MUCL) is one of the most important fungal culture collections in the world: more than 30 000 living strains, representing more than 5 000 species and 1 400 genera, from the research of scientists of the laboratory and their missions around the world, as well as deposits by external researchers or by industry.
http://bccm.belspo.be/about-us/bccm-mucl

The BCCM/DCG public collection is the only culture collection worldwide specialized in diatoms, the most species-rich group of algae of ecologic and economic importance. Today, the collection consists of 577 strains, belonging to 48 species of which the majority is cryopreserved.
http://bccm.belspo.be/about-us/bccm-dcg


Diatoms

Bacillariophyta, or diatoms, are an extremely diverse group of organisms, and are the most species rich group of algae. Diatoms are single-celled and golden-brown in color with motile and non-motile species. The cell walls of diatoms are composed of silica, which fits together in two halves like a box. The lid and base of the box are known as valves, which are connected by a girdle, and the whole structure is known as a frustule. Frustules occur in two basic forms, cylindrical (centric, circular in valve view) and elongated (pennate, roughly boat-shaped in valve view, although there are many variations on the theme).

Diatoms are one of the most common forms of phytoplankton and are an important food source for aquatic life, living in both fresh- and saltwater environments. Especially humans are very dependent on the thriving of diatoms. Up to a quarter of all photosynthesis on our planet is carried out by Bacillariophytes. This automatically means that diatoms are responsible for the production of a large amount of the oxygen we breathe and the fixation of the same amount of carbon dioxide we produce.

Over millions of year diatoms, together with other micro-algae, generated the huge oil deposits which form the basis for many fuels and products (e.g., plastics) we daily use. Diatomaceous earth is mined deposits of fossilized diatoms and has a wide selection of commercial uses, such as in “natural” pest control, cosmetic abrasives, and water filtration.

In short, it is safe to say that diatoms play a key role in the past and current evolution of humans and humanity.

Green algae

The green algae, or Chlorophyta, occur mainly in freshwater although are common in brackish and marine ecosystems. Green algae are usually single-celled and microscopic, although some form colonies that are considered macroscopic. The colonies have very interesting morphology forming spherical (round) colonies composed of many cells or occurring as straight or branched filaments (long, thin series of cells).

Green algae are thought to be in the evolutionary line that gave rise to the first land plants. One of the very well-known green micro-algae is Chlorella, it is often advertised as being a "super-food" and can be found in many forms at specialized food stores. In the last couple of decades, also green macro-algae such as Caulerpa racemosa, Codium and Ulva have been more frequently incorporated in our daily diet.


Luc Cromheecke
I love Plunk !
Sc : L.Letzer
Dupuis, 2007

 


 

Back to the list of objects



Copyright © 2019 BELSPO

Objet 2

Lune, soleil et soucoupe volante, à l’échelle microscopique!
Champignons et Micro-algues
BELSPO/BCCM

 

Bienvenue sur la lune,  en version microscopique !
A sa surface se présentent des cratères, aux topologies multiples et variées.
Rien de tel que de belles nuits étoilées pour observer les différentes phases de ce corps céleste.
Continuons l’exploration de l’univers en expansion, en laissant maintenant place au soleil !
Fusées, soucoupes volantes et autres vaisseaux spatiaux sont bien utiles pour voyager dans l’espace.
Pour l’occasion, la lune revêt un magnifique costume cuivré.

Les acteurs de ce voyage spatial sont des champignons et des micro-algues.

 

Assemblage proposé par les Collections coordonnées belges de Microorganismes (BCCM), un consortium de sept Centres de Ressources Biologiques complémentaires, basés sur la recherche, financés et coordonnés par la Politique scientifique fédérale.

BCCM GREAT AT SMALL THINGS (Poster)

BCCM offre des solutions et des services de qualité en matière de ressources microbiennes et génétiques pour le monde académique et l’industrie.

La Mycothèque de l’Université catholique de Louvain (BCCM/MUCL) est l’une des plus importantes collections de cultures fongiques au monde : plus de 30000 souches vivantes, représentant plus de 5000 espèces et 1400 genres, provenant de la recherche de scientifiques du laboratoire et de leurs missions à travers le monde, ainsi que de dépôts par des chercheurs externes ou des industriels.
http://bccm.belspo.be/about-us/bccm-mucl

La collection BCCM/DCG de l'Université de Gand est la seule collection au monde spécialisée en diatomées, un groupe d'algues de grande importance écologique et économique. Aujourd'hui, la collection compte 577 souches, appartenant à 48 espèces, dont la plupart sont cryopréservées..
http://bccm.belspo.be/about-us/bccm-dcg


Les Diatomées

Les bacillariophytes, ou diatomées, sont un groupe extrêmement diversifié d'organismes qui constituent le groupe d'algues le plus riche en espèces. Les diatomées sont unicellulaires, de couleur brun doré, avec des espèces mobiles et non mobiles. Les parois cellulaires des diatomées sont composées de silice, qui s'assemble en deux parties comme une boîte. Le couvercle et le fond de la boîte sont appelés valves, qui sont reliés par une gaine, et l'ensemble de la structure est appelé frustule. Les frustules se présentent sous deux formes de base : cylindrique ou allongée.

Les diatomées sont l'une des formes les plus courantes de phytoplancton et constituent une importante source de nourriture pour la vie aquatique, vivant à la fois en eau douce et salée. Les humains sont très dépendants de l'épanouissement des diatomées. Jusqu'à un quart de la photosynthèse de notre planète est réalisée par des Bacillariophytes. Cela signifie donc que les diatomées sont responsables de la production d'une grande quantité d'oxygène que nous respirons et de la fixation de la même quantité de dioxyde de carbone que nous produisons. .

Durant des millions d'années, les diatomées, avec d'autres micro-algues, ont généré les énormes dépôts de pétrole qui sont à la base de nombreux carburants et produits (par exemple, les plastiques) que nous utilisons quotidiennement. La terre à diatomées est minée de dépôts de diatomées fossilisées et a une large sélection d'utilisations commerciales, telles que la lutte "naturelle" contre les parasites, les abrasifs cosmétiques et la filtration de l'eau.

En résumé, les diatomées jouent un rôle clé dans l'évolution passée et présente des êtres humains et de l'humanité.

Les algues vertes

Les algues vertes, ou chlorophytes, se trouvent principalement en eau douce, bien qu'elles soient communes dans les écosystèmes saumâtres et marins. Les algues vertes sont généralement unicellulaires et microscopiques, bien que certaines peuvent former des colonies macroscopiques. Les colonies ont une morphologie très intéressante formant des colonies sphériques composées de nombreuses cellules ou se présentant sous forme de filaments droits ou ramifiés.

On pense que les algues vertes sont dans la lignée évolutive qui a donné naissance aux premières plantes terrestres. L'une des micro-algues vertes les plus connues est Chlorella, qui est souvent présentée comme étant un "super-aliment" et que l'on peut trouver sous de nombreuses formes dans les magasins d'alimentation spécialisée. Au cours des deux dernières décennies, des macro-algues vertes telles que Caulerpa racemosa, Codium et Ulva ont également été plus fréquemment incorporées dans notre alimentation quotidienne.


Luc Cromheecke
I love Plunk !
Sc : L.Letzer
Dupuis, 2007

 


 

Retour vers la liste d'objets



Copyright © 2019 BELSPO