Image

Object 3

»» The BSC strives to maintain its collection, both in storage and in the exhibition rooms, in accordance with the applicable standards for preventative conservation. To that end, it works closely with the competent cell of the Royal Institute for Cultural Heritage (KIK-IRPA).

Preventative conservation protects objects and collections from damage, with special attention for the ten most important factors that can threaten heritage, namely ultraviolet, infrared and visible light, unchanged relative humidity, unchanged temperature, physical forces, fire, water, vermin, theft, vandalism, air pollution and dissociation. Display cabinets are indispensable for meeting the strict conditions for preventative conservation, in particular for vulnerable pieces such as works on paper.

»» The display case protects the artwork against high-impact risks such as floods, fire, theft and vandalism.

»» An artwork on a fragile support such as paper cannot be exposed to a light of an intensity greater than 50 lux, nor to ultraviolet or infrared rays. Daylight must be avoided at all costs.

»» Paper is very sensitive to fluctuations in relative humidity. A (sealed) display case can guarantee a stable ambient climate where the temperature varies between 16° and 18°C and relative humidity between 50% and 55%.

»» The display case protects against external aggressions such as dust and pollution. The construction materials and paints used for the display case must be environmentally-friendly so as to prevent them generating their own pollutants that could affect the artwork.

»» The display case protects the artwork against vibrations and shocks caused by visitors..

»» The display case is an obstacle to insects and vermin. If the relative humidity is too high (>65%) in the display case, it can cause a microclimate, it can also lead to mildew.

»» Light, ultraviolet rays and pollutants have yellowed and weakened the adhesive tape (or what remains of it). The adhesive tape itself is damaging the artwork on paper and releasing pollutants.


Peyo
Le Cosmoschtroumpf / De Ruimtesmurf / The Astrosmurf
Sc : Peyo/Y.Delporte/Gos
Dupuis, 1970

 


 

Back to the list of objects



Copyright © 2019 BELSPO

Image

Objet 3

»» Le CBBD souhaite veiller à la bonne conservation de sa collection, conformément aux normes de conservation préventive en vigueur, que ce soit dans les espaces d’entreposage ou ceux d’exposition. A ce titre, le CBBD collabore activement avec la cellule de conservation préventive de l’IRPA.

La conservation préventive empêche la détérioration des objets et des collections en agissant sur les 10 agents de détérioration, principales menaces des objets patrimoniaux: lumière, ultraviolet & infrarouge; humidité relative inadéquate; température inadéquate; forces physiques; incendie; eau; ravageurs; vol & vandalisme; polluants; dissociation. La vitrine s’avère indispensable pour atteindre les exigences strictes de conservation préventive, nécessaires pour une pièce vulnérable comme l’œuvre sur papier exposée.

»» La vitrine protège l'œuvre d’art contre les risques à fort impact tels que l’inondation, l’incendie, le vol et le vandalisme.

»» Une œuvre d’art sur un support fragile tel que le papier ne peut pas être exposée à une lumière d’une intensité supérieure à 50 lux, ni au rayonnement ultraviolet ou infrarouge. La lumière du jour doit à tout prix être évitée.

»» Le papier est très sensible aux fluctuations de l’humidité relative. Une vitrine (étanche) peut garantir un climat ambiant stable, où la température oscille entre 16° et 18°C et l’humidité relative entre 50 et 55%.

»» La vitrine protège l'œuvre des agressions externes telles que la poussière et la pollution. Les matériaux de construction et les peintures utilisées pour la vitrine doivent être écologiques, afin d’éviter qu’ils génèrent eux-mêmes des polluants pouvant affecter l'œuvre d’art.

»» La vitrine protège l'œuvre d’art contre les vibrations et les chocs causés par les visiteurs.

»» La vitrine fait obstacle aux insectes et à la vermine. Si l’humidité relative trop élevée (>65%) dans la vitrine peut engendrer un microclimat, elle peut également entraîner des moisissures.

»» La lumière, le rayonnement ultraviolet et les polluants ont jauni et affaibli le ruban adhésif (ou ce qu’il en reste). Le ruban adhésif endommage lui-même l'œuvre d’art sur papier et dégage des polluants.


Peyo
Le Cosmoschtroumpf / De Ruimtesmurf / The Astrosmurf
Sc : Peyo/Y.Delporte/Gos
Dupuis, 1970

 


 

Retour vers la liste d'objets



Copyright © 2019 BELSPO