Image

Object 4

Model
Jupiter and three of its moons: Ganymede, Callisto, and Europa

Earth isn’t the only planet in the solar system to possess a moon. Jupiter, for instance, has a lot of them! The JUICE mission, to which the Royal Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomy contributes through the hyperspectral imaging spectrometer MAJIS, will explore Jupiter and three of its largest moons: Ganymede, Callisto, and Europa. These models are not to scale.

 

Film JUICE
ESA’s Jupiter Icy Moons Explorer (JUICE) will embark on a 7.5-year-long journey to Jupiter in the year 2022, to investigate the giant gaseous planet Jupiter and three of its largest moons, Ganymede, Callisto and Europa. The Royal Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomy participates in this mission with MAJIS, one of the instruments on board.

 

Earth is not the only planet in the solar system to possess a moon. Jupiter, for instance, has a lot of them! The European Space Agency’s JUICE mission (Jupiter Icy Moons Explorer) will embark on a 7.5-year cruise in the year 2022, in order to investigate the giant gaseous planet Jupiter and three of its largest moons, Ganymede, Callisto and Europa. The Royal Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomy (BIRA-IASB) and the Royal Observatory of Belgium (ROB) participate in this mission by characterizing the detectors of MAJIS, one of the instruments onboard. MAJIS is an instrument that is mainly developed by the Institut d’Astrophysique Spatiale (IAS) in France. It is a hyperspectral imaging spectrometer, allowing us to observe the characteristics of the magnetosphere, the tropospheric clouds and the minority species on Jupiter, as well as allowing us to characterize the ice and minerals on the surface of the icy moons. MAJIS will cover the wavelengths from visible to infrared with 2 measuring channels: VIS-NIR (from 0.45 µm to 2.35) and IR (from 2.25 µm to 5.54 µm), with spectral resolutions of respectively 3.66 nm and 6.51 nm. The typical spatial resolution will reach 75 m for an observation altitude of 500 km.

The mission will study the appearance of habitable worlds around gas giants, and the Jupiter system as an archetype of numerous giant planets..

This exhibition at the Royal Palace will let you discover a model of Jupiter with its three largest moons, as well as a European Space Agency film about the JUICE mission. BIRA-IASB and ROB contribute to the in-depth optical and electronics characterization of the detectors of the VIS-NIR measuring channel. To do so they are developing a calibration unit in their laboratories, allowing them to analyze the detectors’ performance in a vacuum and with temperatures corresponding to the environment of the space mission.


Pieter de Poortere
Boerke 3 / Dickie 3
Bries / Glénat, 2006

 


 

Back to the list of objects



Copyright © 2019 BELSPO

Image

Objet 4

Maquette
Jupiter et trois de ses lunes: Ganymède, Callisto et Europa

Notre Terre n’est pas la seule planète du système solaire à être dotée d’une lune. Jupiter, par exemple, en a une multitude!  La mission JUICE, à laquelle participe l’Institut royal d’Aéronomie Spatiale de Belgique par le biais de l’imageur hyper spectral MAJIS, va explorer Jupiter et trois de ses plus grandes lunes: Ganymède, Callisto et Europa. Ces maquettes sont représentatives et pas à l’échelle.

 

Film JUICE
Dès 2022, JUICE (pour Jupiter Icy Moons Explorer), de l'Agence Spatiale Européenne s'envolera vers Jupiter pour une croisière de 7,5 ans, afin d'étudier cette gigantesque planète gazeuse et trois de ses plus grandes lunes : Ganymède, Callisto et Europa. L’Institut royal d’Aéronomie Spatiale de Belgique participe à cette mission via MAJIS, l’un des instruments embarqués.

 

Notre Terre n’est pas la seule planète du système solaire à être dotée d’une lune.  Jupiter, par exemple, en a une multitude ! Dès 2022, JUICE (pour Jupiter Icy Moons Explorer), de l'Agence Spatiale Européenne s'envolera vers Jupiter pour une croisière de 7,5 ans, afin d'étudier cette gigantesque planète gazeuse et trois de ses plus grandes lunes: Ganymède, Callisto et Europa. L’Institut royal d’Aéronomie Spatiale de Belgique (IASB) et l’Observatoire royal de Belgique (ORB) participent à cette mission JUICE en contribuant à caractériser des détecteurs de MAJIS, l’un des instruments embarqués. MAJIS est un instrument développé principalement par l’Institut d’Astrophysique Spatiale (IAS, France). C’est un spectromètre imageur hyper-spectral permettant d'observer les caractéristiques de la magnétosphère, des nuages troposphériques et des espèces mineures sur Jupiter. Il permettra de caractériser les glaces et les minéraux à la surface des lunes glacées. MAJIS couvrira les longueurs d'onde allant du visible à l’infrarouge selon 2 canaux de mesures : VIS-NIR (de 0,45 µm à 2,35 µm) et IR (de 2,25 µm à 5,54 µm), avec des résolutions spectrales respectives de 3.66 nm et 6.51 nm. La résolution spatiale typique atteindra 75 m pour une altitude d’observation de 500 km.

La mission étudiera l’apparition de mondes habitables autour des géantes gazeuses et du système de Jupiter en tant qu’archétype des nombreuses planètes géantes.

Lors de cette exposition au Palais Royal, vous pourrez découvrir une maquette de Jupiter et de trois de ses plus grandes lunes ; ainsi qu’un film de l’Agence Spatiale Européenne relatant la mission JUICE.  L’IASB et l’ORB contribuent à la caractérisation optique et électronique approfondie des détecteurs du canal de mesure VIS-NIR. Ils développent à cet effet une unité d’étalonnage dans leurs laboratoires, permettant d’analyser les performances des détecteurs dans les conditions de vide et de températures propres à celles de la mission spatiale.


Pieter de Poortere
Boerke 3 / Dickie 3
Bries / Glénat, 2006

 


 

Retour vers la liste d'objets



Copyright © 2019 BELSPO