Object 7

Superconducting gravimeter GWR
This instrument measures the variations of the gravity by means of a sphere levitating in a magnetic field generated by a pair of superconducting coils. It operated in Uccle from 1982 to 2000.
(1982)
Royal Observatory of Belgium

Inv. 599

 

Tidal forces, induced by the Moon and the Sun, modify the shape of the globe and cause variations in gravity g. At the Uccle station, g amounts 9.81 117 xxxx m/s²; the xxxx decimals vary over time because of the tidal forces. These variations are on the order of 0.000 002 5 m/s². This means that, between the minimum and the maximum of the gravity tide, the weight of a one-ton mass varies at most by 0,25 gram.

Gravimeters are instruments designed to measure the gravity or its variations. Most gravimeters include a coiled spring, with a mass attached to it and moving as gravity varies. In the early 1980s, a new type of gravimeter became available, where a magnetic field, generated by superconducting currents, plays the role of the spring and where the mass is a hollow metal sphere of 2.5 cm in diameter, levitating in the magnetic field. The sensor, which contains the coils and the sphere, is immersed in a liquid helium bath at -269°C or 4.2 K, i.e. close to the absolute zero, which is -273,15 °C

The principle of superconductivity is that, at so low temperatures, the electrical resistance of some materials drops to zero and an electrical current can flow indefinitely through a coil. This ensures the extreme stability of the magnetic field and consequently of the sphere levitation and the gravity measurement, reaching the unparalleled precision of tenth of a billionth of g.

The Royal Observatory of Belgium started operating a superconducting gravimeter in Uccle in 1982, one of the first two in Europe. This gravimeter, illustrated by the greeting card drawn by Peyo at the end of 1982, was decommissioned in 2000. However, in 1995 and 2014, new generation devices were installed at the Membach and Rochefort stations. The quality of their measurements made it possible, and still makes it possible, to provide fundamental contributions to the science of measurement, to the study of gravity tides as well as other variations in gravity, such as caused by fluctuations in groundwater content.

Filling the superconducting gravimeter GWR T#003 of Uccle with liquid helium.
Credit: Royal Observatory of Belgium.


The superconducting gravimeter GWR C#021 of Membach.
Credit: Etienne Coveliers.


Installing the superconducting gravimeter GWR iGrav#019 in Rochefort (2014).
Credit: Royal Observatory of Belgium



Jo-El Azara
Taka Takata : Kamikaze cyclist / Kamikazefietser

Dargaud, 1973

 

Back to the list of objects



Copyright © 2019 BELSPO

Objet 7

Gravimètre à supraconductivité GWR
Cet instrument mesure les variations de la pesanteur au moyen d’une sphère en lévitation dans un champ magnétique généré par une paire de bobinages supraconducteurs. Il a fonctionné à Uccle de 1982 à 2000.
(1982)
Observatoire royal de Belgique

Inv. 599

 

Les forces de marée, générées par la Lune et le Soleil, modifient la forme du globe terrestre et induisent des variations de la pesanteur g. À la station d'Uccle, g vaut 9,81 117 xxxx m/s²; les décimales xxxx varient dans le temps à cause des forces de marée. Ces variations sont de l’ordre de 0.000 002 5 m/s², c’est-à-dire qu’une masse d’une tonne pesée au maximum et au minimum de la marée voit son poids varier de 0,25 gramme seulement.

Les gravimètres sont des instruments conçus pour mesurer la pesanteur ou ses variations. La plupart des gravimètres comportent un ressort auquel est attachée une masse, qui se déplace en fonction des variations de pesanteur. Au début des années 1980, sont apparus les gravimètres à supraconductivité, où un champ magnétique, généré par des courants supraconducteurs, joue le rôle du ressort. La masse consiste en une sphère creuse de 2,5 cm de diamètre qui lévite dans le champ magnétique. Le senseur, qui contient les bobines et la sphère, est plongé dans un bain d’hélium liquide à -269 °C ou 4,2 K, ce qui est proche du zéro absolu (-273,15°C).

Le principe de la supraconductivité est le suivant : à des températures très basses, la résistance électrique de certains matériaux tombe à zéro et un courant électrique peut y circuler indéfiniment. On dispose ainsi d’un champ électromagnétique extrêmement stable qui permet la lévitation de la sphère et la mesure de la pesanteur avec une précision inégalée (dixième de milliardième de g).

L'Observatoire royal de Belgique a exploité un gravimètre à supraconductivité à Uccle dès 1982, un des deux premiers en Europe. Ce gravimètre, illustré par la carte de vœux dessinée par Peyo fin 1982, a fonctionné jusqu’en 2000. En 1995 et 2014, des appareils de nouvelle génération ont été installés dans les stations de Membach et de Rochefort. La qualité de leurs mesures a permis, et permet encore, des apports fondamentaux en science de la mesure pour l’étude des marées et d’autres variations de la pesanteur, entre autres causées par les fluctuations des masses d’eaux souterraines.

 

Remplissage du gravimètre à supraconductivité GWR T#003 d’Uccle avec de l’hélium liquide.
Crédit: Observatoire royal de Belgique.


Le gravimètre à supraconductivité GWR C#021 de Membach.
Crédit : Etienne Coveliers.


Installation du gravimètre à supraconductivité GWR iGrav#019 à Rochefort (2014).
Crédit: Observatoire royal de Belgique.



Jo-El Azara
Taka Takata : Kamikaze cyclist / Kamikazefietser

Dargaud, 1973

 

Retour vers la liste d'objets



Copyright © 2019 BELSPO