Object 10

 

 

 

 

 

Photos of King Baudouin and Queen Fabiola welcoming the astronauts of Apollo 11 along with their wives..
9 October 1969.
Archives of the Royal Palace, Albums BF, activities 1969, p.141-142


Following their successful mission on the Moon, the Apollo 11 Crew, namely Neil Armstrong, Commander of the mission and Lunar Module Pilot, Buzz Aldrin, who joined Armstrong in stepping onto the Moon, and Michael Collins, Command Module Pilot who stayed in orbit around the Moon, were received by the Belgian Royal couple at the Royal Palace in Brussels on 9 October 1969.

 


Photo of King Baudouin, together with Prince Albert and Prince Philippe, admiring a fragment of the Moon taken by the Apollo 12 Crew, in the Museum of Natural Sciences.
24 December 1970
Archives of the Royal Palace, Photos BF, envelope A901


NASA's Apollo programme included no less than seventeen missions, six of which involved a Moon landing. A Moonstone fragment taken in November 1969 during the Apollo 12 mission, was exhibited in Belgium's Museum of Natural Sciences in December the following year. This Museum also owns a fragment of Moon rock, which was taken during the mission of Apollo 17 in December 1972 and presented to Belgium by President Nixon in 1974.

 

Archives of the Royal Palace

The Archives of the Royal Palace were founded in 1962. This department belongs to the King's Cabinet, but is managed by scientific personnel at the State Archives, further to the Ministerial Decree of 10 January 1967.
The Archives of the Royal Palace are located in the former Hôtel d'Assche, on the corner of the Place des Palais and Rue Ducale. This building also accommodates other Palace departments..

 

The reading room at the Archives of the Royal Palace was renovated at the end of 2017. It may be visited by appointment: arch.pal@arch.be


André Taymans
Caroline Baldwin : Moon River
Casterman, 1996

 

Back to the list of objects



Copyright © 2019 BELSPO

Objet 10

 

 

 

 

 

Photos de la réception par le roi Baudouin et la reine Fabiola des astronautes d’Apollo XI et de leurs épouses.
9 octobre 1969.
Archives du Palais royal, Albums BF, activités 1969, p.141-142


Après le succès de leur mission lunaire, l’équipage d’Apollo XI, Neil Armstrong, commandant de la mission et pilote du module lunaire, de Buzz Aldrin, qui accompagne Armstrong sur le sol lunaire, et de Michael Collins, pilote du module de commande et de service qui restera en orbite lunaire, fut reçu par le couple royal belge au Palais royal de Bruxelles le 9 octobre 1969.

 


Photo du roi Baudouin, accompagné du prince Albert et du prince Philippe au Musée des Sciences Naturelles, admirant le fragment de Lune prélevé par l'équipage d'Apollo XII.
24 décembre 1970
Archives du Palais royal, Photos BF, enveloppe A901


Le programme Apollo développé par la NASA compta pas moins de dix-sept missions dont six d’entre-elles furent couronnées par un alunissage. Un fragment de pierre de lune prélevé en novembre 1969 lors de la mission Apollo XII fut exposé au Musée des Sciences Naturelles de Belgique en décembre de l’année suivante. Ce Musée possède également un fragment de roche lunaire prélevé lors de la mission Apollo XVII en décembre 1972 et qui fut offert à la Belgique par le président Nixon en 1974.

 

Archives du Palais royal

Les Archives du Palais royal ont été créées en 1962. Il s'agit d'un service ressortissant au Cabinet du Roi, mais géré par du personnel scientifique des Archives de l'État, en vertu de l’arrêté ministériel du 10 janvier 1967.
Les Archives du Palais royal se situent dans l’ancien l'hôtel d'Assche, au coin de la place des Palais et de la rue Ducale. Un bâtiment où se trouvent également d’autres services du Palais.

La salle de lecture des Archives du Palais royal a été rénovée fin 2017. Elle est accessible sur rendez-vous : arch.pal@arch.be




André Taymans
Caroline Baldwin : Moon River
Casterman, 1996


 

Retour vers la liste d'objets



Copyright © 2019 BELSPO