Image

Object 20

Trimble Navigation 4000SL
GPS Receiver
USA, 1988
Antenna (mod. 12333) and computer (mod. 12331)
National Geographic Institute
Inv. G 206


The GPS receiver seen here was the first to be used by staff at the NGI Geodesy department in the late 1980s.
Geodesy – from the Greek gễ (Earth) and daíô (to divide), literally meaning “measuring the earth” - is vital in map making.

Mercator (1512-1594) was able to make a world map in 1540 because he knew the astronomical position of the cities. Until then, all observations since the Middle Ages had been made on Earth.
At the end of the 17th century, Abbot Picard and Jean-Dominique Cassini used the Borda repeating circle for the triangulation of the Paris Meridian. In this way, they attempted to calculate the Earth's curvature.

With the launch of the Russian Sputnik in 1957 came the challenge of communication between earth and space. Controlling the Apollo 11 from the Earth and the landing of the first person on the Moon in 1969 was only possible because of American military bases all over the world.

In 1978, the US Department of Defense decided to put a constellation of 24 satellites into controlled orbit to help with rocket guidance. The entire system became operational in 1993…four years after the fall of the Berlin wall (1989). The GPS or Global Positioning System was born and the Earth has been measured from space ever since.

Some years later, the great nations, not wanting to be dependent on the American system, launched their own projects, for example Galileo in the European Union, Glonass in Russia and Beidou in China.

Meanwhile, GPS devices have become an everyday tool and are commonly used by both car drivers and hikers.

A GPS receiver receives signals from a minimum of four satellites and its computer calculates its position in real time compared to this constellation.
Currently, the NGI is in the process of examining which corrections must be made to its instruments. These corrections are, for example, linked to antennae construction. Thanks to large data sets, our devices allow us to obtain a millimetre precision in x and y and to omit a precision of 5 to 8 millimetres in height. These data sets also serve to correct errors caused by environmental wave refraction and reflection.



François Schuiten
Les cités obscures. L’archiviste / De duistere steden. De archivaris
Sc : Benoît Peeters
Casterman, 1987

 

 

Back to the list of objects

Copyright © 2019 BELSPO

Image

Objet 20

Récepteur GPS
Trimble Navigation 4000SL

USA, 1988
Antenne (mod. 12333) et ordinateur (mod. 12331)
Institut géographique national
Inv. G 206

Le récepteur GPS présenté ici est le premier utilisé par les géodésiens de l'IGN dès la fin des années 1980.
La géodésie – du grec gễ, la Terre et daíô, diviser, littéralement la "mesure de la terre" – est indispensable à la construction des cartes.

Mercator (1512-1594) a réalisé une carte du monde en 1540, grâce à sa connaissance des positions astronomiques des villes. Toutes les observations consignées depuis le Moyen-Âge étaient alors faites depuis la Terre.
L'abbé Picard et Jean-Dominique Cassini à la fin du XVIIème siècle, utilisent le cercle de Borda pour effectuer la triangulation du Méridien de Paris. Ils tentent par-là de connaître la courbure de la Terre.

L'expérience soviétique Spoutnik en 1957, pose la question de la communication entre la Terre et l'espace. Le guidage de la mission Apollo XI depuis la Terre et l'alunissage du premier homme en 1969, n'a pu se faire que grâce à la présence de bases militaires américaines tout autour du globe.

En 1978, le Department of Defense américain décide d'envoyer dans l'espace, une constellation de 24 satellites émetteurs, placés en orbite contrôlée autour de la Terre, afin de guider ses missiles. Le système est complet et opérationnel en 1993...quatre ans après la chute du mur de Berlin (1989).
Le GPS ou Global Positioning System est né et l’on mesure désormais la Terre depuis l’espace.

Quelques années plus tard, les grandes nations développeront leurs propres projets dans un légitime souci d'indépendance, comme Galileo pour l'Union Européenne, Glonass pour la Russie ou Beidou pour la Chine.

Le "GPS" s’est banalisé et est entré dans nos véhicules et dans les poches des randonneurs.

Le récepteur GPS reçoit les signaux codés émis par quatre satellites au moins et son ordinateur calcule en temps réel sa position par rapport cette constellation.

L'IGN, procède actuellement à l’étude des corrections à appliquer à ses instruments. Ces corrections sont entre autre liées à la construction des antennes. De longues séries de données permettent d’obtenir avec nos instruments, une précision millimétrique en x, en y et de 5 à 8 millimètres en altitude. Elles servent aussi à corriger les erreurs dues à la réfraction et a la réflexion des ondes par l’environnement.



François Schuiten
Les cités obscures. L’archiviste / De duistere steden. De archivaris
Sc : Benoît Peeters
Casterman, 1987

 

 

Retour vers la liste d'objets

Copyright © 2019 BELSPO