Image

Object 21

Andreas Cellarius, Johannes van Loo,
Atlas coelestis, seu Harmonia macrocosmica (pl. 19 – Typus selenographicus lunae phases and aspectus varios adumbrans)
Copper engraving (1660)
KBR, Maps and Plans
Inv. II 39.838 D

Gerardus Mercator's (1512-1594) life ambition was to publish an atlas about the entire cosmos and its history. Sadly, he died before being able to complete the work. His idea was then taken up by Johannes Janssonius (1588-1664), a publisher and cartographer from Amsterdam. He published a Novus Atlas Absolutissimus, a work in eight parts featuring maps of the land and sea, descriptions of the ancient world and city maps. The Harmonia Macrocosmica of the astronomer and cartographer Andreas Cellarius (1596-1665) formed the seventh part of this work. It appeared at a time of intense exploration of the sky, Moon and entire solar system.

With its 218 pages and 29 plates, the Harmonia Macrocosmica provided a history of astronomy and images of the universe, based mainly on Ptolemy's conventional geocentric model with Earth in the centre of the universe. The work apparently raised little interest among astronomers at the time. Its main attraction was the historic perspective of astronomy and also the incredible detail and care in the plates printed in double-folio format.

The exhibited plate illustrates the different positions of the Moon in three diagrams. The waxing and waning of the Moon is shown in an anti-clockwise direction. The key diagram illustrates 8 “stations” in this movement. The Earth is pictured in the centre of the system with the Moon and the Sun going around it, following a trajectory portrayed respectively by two circles. The two other diagrams also illustrate stations: right 12 and left 36. These are taken directly from the Selenographia by Johannes Hevelius (1611-1687) whose Moon map is also on display in this exhibition (renvoi necéssaire). In fact, this is not the only thing that Cellarius borrowed for his work. The little cherubs in the top-left corner of Cellarius' work are an exact copy, but mirror image, of those (on the top-right corner) of the map by Hevelius: only the title has been changed.



Clarke
Mélusine : Contes de la pleine lune
Melisande : Verhalen bij volle maan
Sc : F.Gilson
Dupuis, 2002

 

Back to the list of objects

Copyright © 2019 BELSPO

Image

Objet 21

Andreas Cellarius, Johannes van Loo,
Atlas coelestis, seu Harmonia macrocosmica (pl. 19 – Typus selenographicus lunae phases et aspectus varios adumbrans)
Gravure sur cuivre (1660)
KBR, Cartes et Plans
Inv. II 39.838 D

Gérard Mercator (1512-1594) déjà, avait formulé l’ambition de publier un atlas qui couvre l’ensemble du Cosmos et retrace son histoire. Cependant, il décéda avant de pouvoir achever cette œuvre. L’idée fût reprise par Johannes Janssonius (1588-1664), éditeur et cartographe amstellodamois. Celui-ci publia un Novus Atlas Absolutissimus, un ouvrage en 8 tomes contenant cartes terrestres, marines, des descriptions du monde antique et plans des villes. L’Harmonia Macrocosmica de l’astronome et cartographe Andreas Cellarius (1596-1665) forme le septième tome de cette œuvre. Elle paraît dans une époque d’intense exploration du ciel, de la lune et du système solaire en général.

Au travers de 218 pages et 29 planches, l’Harmonia Macrocosmica livre une histoire de l’astronomie et illustre l’univers, en suivant majoritairement la vision géocentrée  classique proposée par Ptolémée (plaçant la terre au centre). L’ouvrage ne dut avoir que peu d’intérêt pour les astronomes à l’époque. Son attrait principal résidait dans son histoire de l’astronomie ainsi que dans ses planches double-folio particulièrement détaillées et enluminées avec soin.

La planche exposée illustre, au travers de trois schémas, les différentes phases de la lune. On peut ainsi suivre sa croissance et décroissance dans le sens inverse des aiguilles d’une montre. Le schéma principal illustre 8 « stations » de ce mouvement. La terre y occupe le centre du système avec la lune et le soleil qui tournent autours, leur trajectoire respective étant indiquée à l’aide de deux cercles. Les deux autres schémas illustrent chacun 12 (à droite) et 36 stations (à gauche). Ils sont directement copiés de la Selenographia de Johannes Hevelius (1611-1687), dont l’une des cartes de la lune est également à voir dans cette exposition. Mais il ne s’agit pas du seul emprunt de Cellarius à cet ouvrage. Ainsi, les chérubins du coin supérieur gauche chez Cellarius sont une copie exacte, mais en miroir, de ceux que l’on retrouve sur la carte de Hevelius (coin supérieur droit) ; seule le titre change.



Clarke
Mélusine : Contes de la pleine lune
Melisande : Verhalen bij volle maan
Sc : F.Gilson
Dupuis, 2002

 

Retour vers la liste d'objets

Copyright © 2019 BELSPO